New to caravanning - Kia Cee'd SW

Sep 29, 2016
Visit site
Hello all, after many years of enjoying the outdoor holiday life in tents me, my wife and daughter have decided to take the plunge and look into owning a caravan. We're not doing this without doing our usual extensive research in order for us to get the most out of this exciting new venture.

I was wondering if anyone else like us owns a 2013 model or newer Kia Cee'd SW (estate) 1.6 diesel. I'd like to know how well this tows and performs. Obviously this is towing it's max weight of 1240kg.

Any other advice would be gratefully received.

Many Thanks

May 7, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to the forum. Not sure what the kerb weight of the car is so check this as the caravan needs to be lighter than the car. 85% is recommended for beginners but possibly too low to get what you need with this car. The engine should be up to towing a lightweight caravan although I have no experience of the Ceed.
In the long term something heavier might be better but to start with you should be safe with a suitably matched caravan.
If you have any questions feel free to ask as there are plenty of people on here with lots of experience and who have met most problems.

Jul 20, 2016
Visit site
Hello, I have got a normal Cee'd (not the SW). MIne is a 1.6 diesel on a 13 plate (2013)

I tow a small 2 berth van with a MTPLM of 1276 kg. On the whole, it pulls fine on motorways, but if you go down any country roads with steep inclines, and i mean very steep, not just a bit of a hill, then it would struggle. The car is a turbo diesel, and sometimes you need to work the turbo to get a good pull ie make sure your revs are >1700 to get the turbo to kick in for the extra pull if on a hill, but you find this with most cars i expect. 5th gear is fine, but you have no chance of 6th so don't even try!