New to caravans, overnight heating question

Mar 31, 2015
Visit site
Picked up our first caravan yesterday, a Coachman Pastiche 420/4 2005 model. Had the heater on and all works well but I have a question about keeping it on all night.

My concern is that when the beds are made up, they are right next to the heater. I'm worried that the ends of the duvet make land on top of the heater during the night. Is that safe? Anybody else have the same issue?

Maybe a daft question but I'm completely new to caravanning and just want to make sure all is safe.

Many thanks

Mar 9, 2008
Visit site
Hello and welcome to the world of caravanning . I hope you and your family enjoy and have many good and sometimes strange memories to come . As regarding the caravan heating , I'm sure your system is blown air and popular and well tested . In practical terms I do not think you will normally need any heating on overnight unless its really icy , you'll be surprised how warm it will /would get with leaving the heat on overnight . If you look at the warm air exit nozzles you will see that these usually turn to close them off . but saying that you never ever close ALL the nozzles off , but the odd one is OK . If you ever did leave the heating on overnight then you would certainly set it to low heat , if you didn't then believe me you would wake up literally roasting . So to try and answer your question - if overnight your duvet did slip over one of the outlets then as long as the majority of the other outlets were free of obstruction and fan/heat was set the a minimum I can't see a problem . Usually in the height of a really cold winter its so nice to turn the heating right down at bedtime or slightly before , then experience lying in bed with warmth rising into the mattress , mmmmm BLISS .

Mar 9, 2008
Visit site