Nose Weight (again)

Jul 2, 2017
Visit site
Hi,

Sorry for the question, I'm sure these have all been asked before but I'm a bit of a newbie.

So, we've just bought a Sterling Eccles Elite Trekker for weekends away and holidays with the kids.
I read a researched a lot before we bought it as I know it's quite a big twin axle caravan.
We tow with a Vauxhall Antara and the max ratio between kerb weight and MTPLM is 92%. I have towed boats a lot in the past so I'm comfortable with the ratio and take it steady and will be sensible with weight when loading.

So on to nose weight.
Making sure everything was fine to tow before I bought the caravan, I checked the nose weight at the dealer. It read 60kg empty. The Antara can take 80kg so all seemed fine and we bought the caravan.

We picked the caravan up and towed it home. Only items added were a 6kg propane bottle and the 110a battery for the mover.

Weve just been away for the weekend and I've just checked the nose weight again and it's 113kg (empty apart from cadac and porch awning at rear and aqua roll and waste at front)

Clearly I can't of checked it correctly before I purchased the van.

I'm looking for advice on how to best reduce the nose weight by 30kg without loading too much heavy stuff to the rear of the caravan.

The caravan towed great with the higher nose weight but I'm conscious of the legalalities.

Thanks for your help.

Mike

Jul 2, 2017
Visit site
The gas bottle is in the front locker, battery is quite far forward. The spare wheel is slung under just behind the rear axle.

I had considered removing the gas and storing at the rear under the seats.

Jun 20, 2005
Visit site
Hi Mike.
Measuring the nose load on a TA is more complex than one a SA.
It is essential the caravan is absolutely level and on level ground.

Whilst I use a Reich TA gauge I suggest you use the bathroom scales.