Potential buyer seeking advice

Mar 1, 2009
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I'm looking to purchase my first caravan, budget is 5-6k. There are 2 of us so a 2 berth would suffice.

Towing wise, shouldn't be a problem, own a L200 with 2.8t rear hook.

The question I have is - if buying from a dealer surely you should be able to check all the installed items in the van prior to purchase, even if you have to bring your own gas bottle.

The reasoning behind this is the dealer can provide a PDI check for an amount of cash - I'm a mechanic by trade so all the running gear & coupling I can check, even the electrical side.

So, is it feasible to ask the dealer to hook it up so you can check the items?

Thanks in advance

Dave

Mel

Mar 17, 2007
Visit site
Can't answer your question, but i wonder if you are asking cos you want to be absolutely sure its all OK, or you think that maybe the dealer will charge you less. If its the latter my guess would be that the dealer will let you check what you can but I doubt they will charge you less and I doubt that they will let you in their workshop. I could be wrong though.

mel

Apr 30, 2008
Visit site
When we collected ours it was hooked up to the electricity, the heating was on, the lights were on, there was water in the hot water system and toilet.The gas was on so we could check the cooker lit ok. Could have camped out in it there and then.

Apr 30, 2008
Visit site
When we collected ours it was hooked up to the electricity, the heating was on, the lights were on, there was water in the hot water system and toilet.The gas was on so we could check the cooker lit ok. Could have camped out in it there and then.
Should have said, that was at a nationwide dealership, York branch.

Apr 30, 2008
Visit site
should have said, that was at a nationwide dealership, York branch.

Oct 21, 2008
Visit site