Question on Annual Service.

Apr 20, 2009
Visit site
Following on from a topic currently running it has got me thinking.
I use a mobile engineer, been with this one for the last five years, and as I am at work when it is done I cant keep my eye on him.
So;
1. How long would it reasonably Take ? ( He was there just under 3 hours)
2. Should he have reported the squeak I have ? (It is obvious)
3. And would/should he notice/report delaminated floor ?

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
A full service should take no less than 4 hours.
Any faults found during the service which are outside the normal service items should have been reported to you to enable you to make an informed decision on the way forward.
That includes squeaks and certainly delamination.

Apr 28, 2011
Visit site
I am no expert but surely these things should have been noted at least.
I have always tried to do almost everything myself all 3 vans I have owned had not been serviced regularly but had been lovingly looked after by the owners and it showed.
Why trust someone else to look after your pride and joy?
Ok if you are trying to keep the service book all stamped up to date etc but if like me your service book is not full of stamps then there is no better person than yourself to service your van as long as you are competent enough to do it.
I know I will have lots of people saying you should have it serviced but why? As kevin has proved they don't check everything and we could do just as good if not a better job at it.
Sorry to hear of your problems kev. Will have a chat next weekend buddy over a beer.

May 7, 2012
Visit site
I understand the official figure is four hours but three and a half seems to be possible. Under three looks like skimping but there may be some reason.
The squeak should have been picked up if it is heard when walking on the floor and the delamination should unless it was in some way hidden.

May 15, 2014
Visit site
Hi,