Rover 75 2.0 CDT Tourer

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Does anyone have any experience or views on towing with the Rover 75 Tourer?

I get the impression that estate cars don't make the best tow cars. Apart from the Mazda 6 estate just winning Practical caravan's best tow car award of course! However, I'm looking at a 2 year old 75 Tourer 2.0 CDT, 16,000 miles, asking price less than £12K (£23K new 2 years ago). It seems to have all the credentials to pull my 1400kg van (Elddis Firestorm 534). 48mpg (solo) 114 bhp, 192 lb ft torque @2000 rpm. Kerbweight 1665 kg (giving an 84% match for my van) and maximum tow of 1600kg. Any comments, good or bad would be greatly appreciated. JohnJ

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello John, I have been towing with a 75 Tourer for over 2 years and it is an auto. It has the MG chip for 130bhp and I tow an Elddis 534. The car is more than capable, we went to Switzerland last year and on the motorways pulls happily at 60+ (I won't say what speed because it annoys some who read this forum). I am dubious of the 534 with fixed bed so do not put anything heavy underneath, all the weight is over the axle, I have a 'thing' about loading, but don't take it to extremes. The awning and extra beer fridge are in the car!

As for the car, I really think they are under rated, mine has leather and for the price these days must represent really good value for money. The BMW engine is not as econemical as some, as I said mine is an auto and gets about 35+ solo and 30 towing, this is getting better as the car gets older, now has 25k on the clock. I don't check it very often as I'm not a regular on the forecourt. It has been 100% reliable and it also tows my 4-wheel trailer and rallycar 1500kgs in all with no problem. If you want any more info, just ask Regards

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site