Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
I have noticed recently that when overtaking 2 large lorries

that were travelling maybe 20-30 yards apart there seems to be

bad turbulance as i pass the first lorrie which seems to start

a snaking situation , this does not happen when overtaking a single lorry, I checked for correct nose weight and loading of the caravan ,which were perfect , I was towing with a BMW 530d

and the van was only 1300kg so I was well within 85% figures

This has happened on several occasions , but only when there are 2 lorries close together travelling at about 50mph, Its a bit frightening when you are committed in the middle lane of the M25

has anybody got any ideas as to what is happening,I have been towing for many years with various car caravan setups and it has never happened with them , I also used to drive articulated lorries so i am not new to towing , I would be interested in your views . what I forgot to mention was also using a stabiliser which has the correct torque ( R.J)

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Ron, whilst it certainly sounds like the lorries are the initial cause that sets this in motion, are you 100% sure that there is not some error in your outfit that adds to the effect, but on its own may be not enough to cause the initial motion.

This wouldn't just start to happen if its never happened before if you see what I'm saying. Things to check are tyres, condition and pressure. Jack van up and see if tyres spin ok and are not warped in any way. Is van loaded ok? Are its wheel bearings ok, brakes binding, is it sagging to one side and just about anything else you could think of really. I also have a 530d Touring and I increase its tyre pressures to the max specified when towing. Its surprising how much better it feels when I do this after collecting my van from storage with just normal pressures!