Stupid newbie questions about a shower..

Jun 17, 2008
Visit site
Hi, I'm a total newbie; just bought my first caravan, which is old (early 90s maybe?) and in need of MUCH refurbishment! The original shower, if indeed it had one, is gone. I need general advice on the options open to me: Water heaters; Gas? 12volt? 240volt? Pump; 12 or 240v? Are there a single units that both pump and heat the water? It's a small caravan and I don't envisage carrying mega gallons of water, but presumably I have to, or can I run a shower from a convenient cold water source? (ie Go fill the biggest big bucket I can find and put a hose in it) I still have to carry the waste though, so I'll need at least one water tank for that under the floor? Thanking you in advance for your patience..

Parksy

Nov 12, 2009
Visit site
Hi Pete

It might be possible to find out more if you could tell us the make and model of your caravan.

Is there a handbook or any other paperwork with it?

I'll try to give a brief outline anyway. Many caravans from the 1990s have water heaters already fitted and these run off gas/12v electrics.The method of drawing water is usually via a pump attatched to the caravan, often made by whale and these are 12v. The water is stored in an aquaroll which is filled from an onsite tap and taken to your caravan and the pump is immersed into the aquaroll. The waste water exits via pipes either to the side or rear of your caravan and it's collected in a waste water container and emptied at a designated point onsite, so there's no question of transporting either clean or waste water onboard the caravan, everything is done when you are set up on site and the weight of the caravan is critical, especially in relation to your towcar.