Swift Challenger 2013 Damp around Window, Whats best to do?

Apr 25, 2024
Visit site
Hi All,

I am very new to caravaning, I bought a 2013 Swift Challenger 585 last year, in very good condition with service history and damp check. We had a very wet summer in Ireland, the caravan was then put to indoor storage in November, to my disappointment in late December I noticed the dreading "pimpling" below the front right window. The damp readings are about 35% from half way down the window to 65-70% at the bottom of the window, 3 inches in and the wallboard is 8% on average. Is this a window seal that has caused this or would it becoming up from the battery box? Do I just need to re-silcone around the window seal or do I replace the whole window seal. I will also need to replace some of the wallboard. As the van is based in Ireland, there is not many repair shops and the prices are extermely high.Should I fix the van myself or just trade it in? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I can add photos if they are any help to people.

Thanks in advance.

J

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Nksky

Welcome to the forum.

I'm sorry to read of your problems. I can understand your suspicion the window is responsible for the raised readings, but without being able to see and test the area its simply not possible for anyone on a forum to know exactly what has failed. Someone might get lucky and suggest the correct reason, but there is no certainty.

What I find worrying and perplexing is that you tell us you discovered signs of damp after you put it into indoor storage, and the signs continued to get worse. There is something very amis for that to happen.

Until you know what's wrong and what might be done, you can't weigh up the pros and cons of repairing or replacing the caravan, however if it is a bespoke parts that has failed like a window frame, you have to consider if one has just failed, how likely will it be that other frames might go the same way fairly soon.