Towbar type

Nov 15, 2019
Visit site
Hello all. I'm new to caravaning and after some information. We have ordered our new caravan and it comes with a AL-KO AKS stabiliser. Do I need a certain type of towbar for the stabiliser. I have seen online that a swan neck towbar is reccommended but I am not sure. Cheers

Jan 19, 2002
Visit site
The Alko hitch requires a longer 'neck', so there are likely to be 4 choices - detachable either swan neck or flange, and fixed either swan neck or flange. The fitter should ask if you need the Alko type. With a detachable you can stow the hook in the car and clip in securely when you wish to tow. If you wish to use assessories, like certain bike racks, that fit between the flange and the towball head then flange is the choice. If having a swan neck ensure there is an 'eye' for the breakaway cable - it is becoming more common for countries to rule hooking the breakaway round the towball to be unacceptable. Also worth paying the extra for OEM wiring rather than a generic wiring kit.
If you get a towball with a black painted head then this must be cleaned with emery paper back to metal before using to tow.
You will find similar information on the forum with a recent question about noisy towing.

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com
audiorob said:
If you wish to use assessories, like certain bike racks, that fit between the flange and the towball head then flange is the choice.

Unless the towbar manufacturer has specifically included the use of a device which clamps between the towbar itself and the towball head in his type approval, such an arrangement is not permissible. It is unlikely that such a 'spacer' is covered by type approval except for some off-road vehicles which have provisions for drop plates and the suchlike.

Nov 16, 2015
Visit site