Towbar type

Page 2 - Passionate about caravans & motorhome? Join our community to share that passion with a global audience!
Nov 16, 2015
Visit site
I had a removable Witter on my Vectra, a few years ago, it was great but I found at times removal was a bit awkward after, a bit of road grime and exhaust soot. Landrover Freelanders with detachable tow bars had I think a recall about 5 years ago due to clearence of fitment.

May 4, 2020
Visit site
Hello all. I'm new to caravaning and after some information. We have ordered our new caravan and it comes with a AL-KO AKS stabiliser. Do I need Nox Vidmate VLC a certain type of towbar for the stabiliser. I have seen online that a swan neck towbar is reccommended but I am not sure. Cheers
it very clear preferably in writing that the new installation must have full fridge and charging wiring and that the vehicle specific wiring loom MUST be used. It should also be confirmed that the installer will reprogram the Engine Management Unit else such as bulb failure and stability control will not work.

Last edited:
Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
You will need to ask the towbar fitter to ensure that the towball is compatible with a Alko stabiliser. it does not have to be swan necked. Decide if you want a fixed ball or a detachable ball. It is the slightly extended neck that is required as this allows clearance for the stabiliser pads to move without interference. Here’s a picture from Alko website of a fixed towball.

https://www.alko-tech.com/uk/towball

Jan 3, 2012
Visit site