Towbar wiring

Jan 3, 2019
Visit site
Being new to this malarky I am doing lots of homework before we get our first van and have just stumbled across a really interesting article that explains every aspect of van and trailer wiring including supplementary wiring, (i'll post the link in case anyone is interested or if links are allowed? )
Being a mechanic I have wired my fair share of standard 7 pin plugs and even the occasional euro 13 pin jobbies but never had anything to do with the supplementary plugs so wanted to see what they are about and what they are actually used for, (I fully intend to wire my own sockets into my car when i get round to it)
so with that in mind..I have a couple of questions..
Have any of you guys wired your own lighting and supplementary plugs in, and did anyone worry about uprating the alternator to cope with an extra load? ( I don't plan on doing this myself but wondered if anyone has had to do this as their cars alternator wasn't man enough?)

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Steve,

Welcome to the forum,

I have never heard of any caravanner having to upgrade their alternator (on a modern car) becasue of towing. As I understand it most alternators are only under maximum load for a relatively short period of time, so they usually have enough excess power to feed to the supplementary circuit. The circuit is usually controlled by a voltage sensing relay, and will only energise when there is excess alternator capability.

The caravan systems connected to the supplementary (Fridge, and battery charging) are quite happy to have an supply that has some off periods.

Sep 29, 2016
Visit site
It's been many years since I heard of anyone fitting a higher output alternator for standard caravan purposes.

Not much other than road lights and the fridge and a charge to the leisure battery takes place, not much effort for modern alternators I understand.

Adding say a reversingrear view camera system would have little effect on your alternator capacity.