Towing A Twin Axle

Aug 14, 2005
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I am a newbie to towing my own caravan, though I have many happy memories as a child. Well now I have my own family and I have invested in a Bessacarr Cameo 470. I will be towing it with a VW Bora 1.9TDi. I am aware that the caravan is well within the limits of the car but I am debating the investment in a stabiliser.

I have done a search and read the other comments already made but no one has said anything about twin axles. I was always under the impression that a twin axle should be more stable but does that mean I can avoid a stabiliser? I don't have a lot of money after having bought the van and the various other bits otherwise I would just buy one.

All comments greatly appreciated.

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com
Twin axles are inherently more stable but whether that means you can avoid having to fit a stabiliser is a bit difficult to give a definitive answer. There will always be situations where its superior stability is stretched to the limit. It's bit like deciding how much insurance coverage you need or are willing to pay for. See how the caravan handles without a stabiliser first and then you can still fit one later.

May 21, 2008
Visit site
Hi Trevor.

I tow a twenty foot twin axle (Link 575) with our Laguna estate. It's right what Lutz say's about the inherant stability, which does mean a snake fre drive in all but the strong cross wind situation. Even then I find you get a more gentle directional change than the sudden sway you get with a single axle van.

I still use a stabiliser, mainly to assist with the up and down movement you get towing such a long van.