Towing Advice Needed

Oct 8, 2014
Visit site
Hi everyone,
This is my first time to caravanning and have been looking at different caravans to buy but am a little confused as to which caravan would be suitable as trying to work out the different weights has gone over my head so i am hoping some of you experienced people on here can guide me in the right direction.
I am looking to buy a second hand caravan 4 berth fixed bed single axle but just need to know what the maximum my car can pull as in terms of a caravan.

I have a Citroen Picasso 1.6 Diesel 2009

Height 1637mm
Length 4276mm
Wheelbase 2760mm
Width 1751mm

Gross Vehicle Weight 1850kg
Max Loading Weight 550kg
Max Towing Weight-Braked 1300kg
Max Towing Weight-Unbraked 690kg
Minimum Kerb Weight 1300kg

All help is greatly appreciated
:)

Apr 7, 2008
Visit site
It's 1300kg as in line 3 of your question

Max Towing Weight - Braked 1300kg ;)

But it can also depend on what your gross train weight is your figures show that it's 3150kg.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello D&S

I guess what you are really trying to work out is what size of caravan to consider. This is obviously dictated by the tow car you have.

Legally you can tow any trailer that falls within the specification of the car, but its not always wise to for the biggest allowed. Caravans are big and bulky and represent a bigger challenge than a simple garden trailer. In recognition of this the caravan industry makes some recommendations to help guide people looking for their first caravan.

It is always good sense to keep the caravan as small as possible, relative to the tow car, and the recommendation that novice caravanners try to keep the towing ratio to about 85% and only increase as experience grows. The ratio is calculated on the caravans MTPLM divided by the cars Kerbweight.