towing with renaults

Jan 28, 2008
Visit site
I have no experience with a cc, but if it is like any othe rRenault, you should check what the maximum gross train weight is (plated weight) which will give you the maximum legal weight for the car and caravan in its towed condition (with all passengers on board). This will probably mean the caravan maximum weight is well below the cars towing limit, unless you and your passengers weigh next to nothing.

Cheers

David

May 21, 2008
Visit site
Hi Stephen.

I have owned 17 Renaults since 1984 and find them to be excellent vehicles.

I've had 5,11, 18, 21, 25, Espace and Laguna models.

My 18 estate was a 1647cc engine car and performed very well.

My current car is a 1998 Laguna estate 2 litre which tows to the max manufacturers weight. I pulls a 20ft twin axle caravan and does so with ease.

David is right in what he says about Gross Train weight, which is the heighest figure quoted on your VIN plate which should be located inthe drivers door opening.

Mine on my Laguna states 3045Kgs as max gross train weight. This weightis the maximum weight that your car plus all passengers,laggage and full tank of fuel plus your loaded caravan/trailer can weigh.

If you go either to your local farmers merchants, or a VOSA test center, they will be more than happy to weigh your outfit and give free advice.

My personal experience of towing with Renaults has been a good one, they all have plenty of power in reserve and are more than capable of towing what they are spec'd to tow.

Steve L.

Jan 28, 2008
Visit site
Hi

Ignoring the weight issues (after all it is only a major legality!) the GrandScenic did tow the caravan very well once I had the weight distribution sorted in the van. It never lacked power and was economical too, giving almost 38mpg on a long tow. I would not have changed it if it wasn't short of legal load carrying capacity.

Cheers

David

Jan 28, 2008
Visit site