Whale water heater

Apr 11, 2024
Visit site
Hi I am new to this just asking if anyone else has had an issue with the underfloor whale water heater drain off / pressure relief valve leaking when water reaches temperature.
It happens every time I use the caravan. Sometimes it’s ok for a couple of hours then it just at full pressure lets the water go.
I returned caravan to dealer who fitted a new drain valve and said that was the problem.
This was not true as it still leaks every time I use it.
If anyone else has suffered with this issue I would love to know how to fix.

Regards

Jun 16, 2020
Visit site
Hi and welcome to the forum.

Could it be that the drain valve doubles as a pressure relief valve?

If so, it might be that it is faulty, (even the new one).
Or, perhaps it is working properly and just relieving pressure.
Or, perhaps the thermostat is faulty, and the boiler is overheating.

Is the leak continuous or only when it has reached temperature?

John

Reactions: Se@n3662
Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
According to the installation instructions, the pressure relief valve also doubles as the drain valve. This is mounted at the bottom of the heater, but it has a shaft which allows it to be controlled from inside the caravan.

If we assume the replacement valve is working correctly, then that leads to the suspicion the water pressure inside the heater is rising beyond the valves dump pressure. This may be caused by two possibilities, the first is the cold water pressure is too high, according to the instructions it should be no greater than 1.9 Bar. And the second is the heater is not regulating it's maximum temperature.

What arrangements do you have for the cold water supply? Is it a direct hose from a tap, or a submersible or in board water pump?