12V 15" LCD TV - A bargain or am I missing something?

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
I was browsing around in Sainsburys last week and as I needed one for the bedroom, I purchased a 15" LCD TV made by the well known and respected (!) company Sonix. When I got home, I realised that it was actually a 12V DC model but it runs through the mains via the supplied adaptor. The TV draws 4 amps @ 12v (about 50 watts) so I can easily run it through a 150w inverter that I already have (I think they cost about £25 to buy). The question for this forum is that when I investigated how much 12V 15" LCD TVs were, all the caravan supplies sites were quoting prices of around £400. Have I found the caravanning bargain of the century or am I missing something obvious?? I have to say that I'm new to caravanning and my first van's due to be delivered in a month so I can't test to see whether it really works in the caravan!

Mar 20, 2005
Visit site
Hi Louis

I`d need to know how much you paid before I could decide if it was a bargain !! Can you give a bit more info ? Does it have teletext ? , is it multi standard ? what branch of Sainsburys ?

Cheers

Ade

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Adrian - Not sure whay you mean by multi standard but I've just messed around with it and you seem to be able to select the following "systems" PAL-I (which is the one that I am using), PAL-BG, SECAM DK, SECAM-BG & PAL-DK. Hope that answers your question?

Mar 20, 2005
Visit site
A multistandard TV would be useful if touring abroard and plugging into a campsite supplied service. Your TV seems to cover most popular systems. Might just be a bargain !! I can`t find a mention of TV`s at all on Sainsburys website , perhaps yours was a special purchase for your local branch only. Shame.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site