Aug 10, 2020
Visit site
Hey folks

I'm new to this and my family are on our first caravan trip, two days in!

Is the caravan light supposed to come on when connected to the car? I have read somewhere that the light and 12v cooler are on different circuits? I'd like to know whether the fridge is working on 12V when I'm driving or not.

The van is a 2006 Compass Magnum and the fridge is a Thetford N80p. My car has a 13 pin socket and I'm using an adapter to connect the 7n and 7s from my van.
Pin 10 from my car is kicking out voltage and all electrics stop working in the van when the car is connected, I think this is correct.
When the car isn't connected, the fuse for fridge in the van doesn't seem to do anything (to the fridge light at least) but the fuse for ignition stops the fridge light from working.

The fridge works on hook up and gas so I know that the cooling mechanism works ok. Has anyone got any ideas before I take to a garage to look at it?

Thanks folks!

Jan 19, 2002
Visit site
Not quite sure I can follow all of your description but will attempt to give a few pointers.
When pitched the fridge will work on gas or UHU. It does use 12v from the caravan supply for the internal light - there is a magnetic switch in the fridge door surround that senses when the door is open and switches it on.
It will only work on 12 v when towing, and the towbar should be wired so that the supply only operates through a relay when the ignition is on and the engine is running - otherwise the fridge would rapidly flatten the battery. Likely you will find that the electric switch on the fridge has an O for off and an electric and battery symbol, so switch to the battery position when you are towing .- not forgetting to turn back to electric when you are pitched.

Aug 10, 2020
Visit site