Anchorbox; design project for caravan security

May 2, 2016
Visit site
Hello,
I am a design student and i would like to display my proposed project. Which as it is part of a University project is not yet commercially available. I am more interested in the opinions and feedback from caravaners.

Through my research I found a vunerability in hitch locks as they could be overcome with either a figure of 8 rope technique or a dropbox, and that most other systems that used locks could be defeated quickly with a cordless angle grinder or acetaline torch.

The anchorbox is inteneded to add another layer of protection above an anchor post. Essentially it still has the anchor post inside it but with sliding doors which clamp around the hitch preventing access to unlock the hitch, it is also possible to lock the hitch in place with a hitch lock and still close the doors.

A security system inside the anchorbox equipped with magnetic switches to detect if someone tries to open the doors, heat and vibration sensors if a cutting attack is attempted. If the alarm does go off it will call the owner of the caravan or a designated number to warn them that the caravan or trailer is being attacked and hopefully buy some time to intercept the thieves. Also through the size of the anchorbox it would be hoped that it would put off opportunisitic thieves who would previously have tried to overcome a hitchlock, due to the size of the anchorbox the methods of the drop box or rope would not work, although for added security it can be bolted to the ground.

Below are some pictures from a presentation i used recently at university for the Anchorbox, the fictional company i have created is "Safetrail" hence the large graphic.

Screen%20Shot%202016-05-02%20at%2023.49.22_zpsouslng57.png

Screen%20Shot%202016-05-02%20at%2022.16.35_zpsrvju73p3.png

Screen%20Shot%202016-05-02%20at%2022.16.37_zpsvoukdvoj.png

Screen%20Shot%202016-05-02%20at%2022.16.40_zpsmlnz18po.png