Another tow car combination question

Sep 2, 2014
Visit site
We are looking at getting our first caravan, and also changing the family car to enable me to tow a caravan. Although I have been driving since 1999, I only have a category B licence, which is restricted to the 3500Kg combination. The caravan we would like to get is the new Venus 540/4 which MAM is 1295Kg. The car I am looking at is the korando SE, with a gross vehicle weight of 2180Kg. The kerb weight is 1666Kg. So I am looking at 1295Kg + 2180Kg = 3475kg max. Am I correct in thinking that this complies with my category B licence?. I know this is close but as these are maximum weights, I am thinking with 2 adults and 2 small children I wouldn't be that heavy. I would obviously use a weigh bridge before venturing out.

Nov 6, 2005
Visit site
Chorleynoob said:
We are looking at getting our first caravan, and also changing the family car to enable me to tow a caravan. Although I have been driving since 1999, I only have a category B licence, which is restricted to the 3500Kg combination. The caravan we would like to get is the new Venus 540/4 which MAM is 1295Kg. The car I am looking at is the korando SE, with a gross vehicle weight of 2180Kg. The kerb weight is 1666Kg. So I am looking at 1295Kg + 2180Kg = 3475kg max. Am I correct in thinking that this complies with my category B licence?. I know this is close but as these are maximum weights, I am thinking with 2 adults and 2 small children I wouldn't be that heavy. I would obviously use a weigh bridge before venturing out.
That's fine on a B-only licence and at 78% Towing Ratio it should tow well - it would also be permitted at the higher speed limit in France.

Dec 11, 2009
Visit site
Welcome to the forum Chorleynoob. It's refreshing to see a new caravaner doing their homework before parting with their hard earned money and being a danger/illegal on the road. :p

May 7, 2012
Visit site