Ants!!

Jun 26, 2006
Visit site
Having just looked into the caravan today I discovered it was crawling with ants! I have not had this problem before and the caravan is parked where it normally is. I have hoovered up all that I can see and spayed ant killer in the corners of the van and around the obvious vents in the underside. I am pretty sure that this will do the trick but wondered whether anyone alse has had a similar problem? I am new to caravanning hence the question and no there wasn't any food left in the van - thankfully!

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
We had a few in the awning in Brittany but other people had to move pitches.

We get them in the kitchen and they make for the dishwasher

They come out somewhere dead but very clean .

We find that once we put out the ant killer that comes in a round container like an air freshener they soon take the bait back to the nest and are never seen again until next year.

The one we are using at the moment is Nippon ant killer.

They use a drop of liquid in the dispenser and we have only had to put one drop in this year.

We were able to buy a similar one(2 pack) in Brittany and one did our awning and we gave one to the people who had moved and it cured their problem.

May 20, 2006
Visit site
if you think about it there are only 6 real points of contact with the floor when its not in use, the 4 steadies and the wheels (providing you have a single axel of course)

Just sprinkle some nippon around the wheels and legs, i bet this will cure the problem and you wont see them again til next year.

Jun 26, 2006
Visit site
if you think about it there are only 6 real points of contact with the floor when its not in use, the 4 steadies and the wheels (providing you have a single axel of course)

Just sprinkle some nippon around the wheels and legs, i bet this will cure the problem and you wont see them again til next year.