buying from dealer

Jan 13, 2012
Visit site
hi, will be going to look at a few caravans from dealers in the near future , and as i am brand new to the caravan purchase world , i was wondering what to expect. both caravans are around the £4000 mark and come with a 3 month warrenty. would i expect them to have a full service and damp check for this price and would i need to see everything working before purchase. sorry if this all seems obvious , i have bought and sold loads of cars but not a caravan so am unsure what to expect. thanks in anticipation of any feedback :)

Aug 23, 2009
Visit site
If they don't offer all that then I would walk away. Your budget is in a very difficult area, you could get an absolute gem of a van or a total dog be it from a dealer or not, be careful and if possible take someone with you that knows what they are looking for. Also look for a full service history if possible and lots of receipts etc... Those people that keep every scrap of paper have normally looked after their van well. I would suggest walking away from anything that is sold as seen but don't expect perfection. Over the years PC magazine have had a wealth of tips for buying second hand vans so someone may be able to help you out with archieve materials

Oct 30, 2009
Visit site
hi Steve,
It would help if you could tell us the make, model, and age of the caravans you are intending to look at as you mentioned both caravans I assume you have a couple in mind, this would help as maybe some of the forum members who have owned the particular vans may be able to help further with what to look out for.