Calais to Royan

Apr 23, 2007
Visit site
What is the best way for this route?

Its either go towards Paris and I've no experience of driving anywhere near Paris so I don't know what the traffic is like; or go around the outside through Rouen and down to Alencon and, Le Mans and Tours.

Thanks

Oct 8, 2007
Visit site
I think I'd probably go for the route via autoroute A16, A28 past Dieppe, A29 past Le Harve, A13 - round Caen, A84 to Rennes, N137 to Nantes, A83 then A10 towards Bordeaux then - exit at Saintes towards Royan. May be a little longer but it would be my preferred route and perhaps less traffic. I would probably be looking to have a stop overnight half way may be just past Avranches.

Apr 23, 2007
Visit site
Thanks Lesley

Avranches is 277 miles from calais. Won't be doing that at 10pm when I land in France as I will also just have driven from Liverpool. But yes that was my first thought for a route. Most of the motorway is free too...:))

Or it used to be anyway

Happy days

Dec 14, 2006
Visit site
Ian, presuming you're the same Ian asking the question about overnight services, I'd suggest the Rouen route too - by far the best way to get to Royan from Calais - and you can stay at Baie de la Somme service area, too. See mappy.com for details. Don't go via Paris unless you absolutely have to - and if so travel on the E104/A104/N104 (whatever it's been renumbered) which is the outer/outer/outer Paris ring road - and actually fine, but you shouldn't need to go this way.

We stayed at Baie de la Somme in May this year - and it was lovely. We've overnighted there several times now, with no problems - although it does get busy. There is a dedicated caravan area in a cul-de-sac to stop HGV's getting in, but it fills up early. This year we stayed nearer the service station, but it was quiet, and we had a really good sleep, and an equally good free shower in the morning, plus a lovely breakfast of croissants, orange juice and coffee in the service area!!1