caravan servicing

Mar 25, 2009
Visit site
I've a 1991 elddis shamalxl and being as I acquired it back in november before starting the season(bit late some of you will say).I have decided to have a service,I've been quoted 135 pounds is this about right or are they ripping me off.Your views would be appreciated.

Dec 6, 2007
Visit site
Yes thats not too bad, just be careful to tell them to discuss the cost of any work before they do it, I think they must do this by law now anyway, but don't say 'whatever it needs, do it' you could get a shock!

I'd get it in as soon as they have a slot. I'm a motor mechanic but I have my caravan serviced by a dealer because of the gas & electric side of things.

G

You may wish to clarify with the dealer exactly what you are getting for your money. In most cases the 'service' does not actually fix anything. What they will do is check out the gas equipment is functioning properly and similarly the fridge, although they will not remove it from the housing. So they do not clean the burners etc. They will do a damp check and will blow out the brake drums and check the brakes are working fine. They will not remove the drums unless asked, and you pay the time and the new nuts. They will also check the towhitch for damage.

The point is that if there are faults then they will, advise and you will arrange, and of course pay, to have these corrected.

I sometimes feel people get confused when they see the word 'service' and assume it is similar to what happens to their car. It is more a habitation check. It will take a morning to complete and so for

Sep 25, 2008
Visit site
scotch lad,