Coachman reversing lights

DJP

May 12, 2006
Visit site
Hello all, We are new to caravanning and total novices having just picked up our new Coachman Amara 520/4 this week. Apologies if this is a daft quastion, but we notice the reversing lights on the caravan do not work when reverse is engaged. The dealer explained 'they are not fitted to new vans' Is this correct? I cannot understand the logic of not needing reversing lights on the road, or even if it is legal. Any suggestions please before we start our first trip.

P.s. excellent forum, full of useful advice.

DJP

May 2, 2006
Visit site
Hi,

The reversing lights are run off the yellow cable (pin 1) of the 12S supplementary socket. How old is your car - because some older cars were not wired in that way. The Caravan Club do an excellent leaflet on the subject of towbar wiring, so if you are a member go on-line and download a copy.

If you have a 12 volt test screwdriver try testing whether this pin on the car socket is outputting a current when you put the car into reverse (clearly a potentially dangerous manouvre so make sure the person at the controls understands about not allowing the foot to slip off the clutch!). If that pin is OK perhaps there is an earthing problem.

Don't understand the comment from the dealer.

Cheers,

Mike

Mar 21, 2005
Visit site
Hi DJP,

Welcome to the forum. We've got a Coachman as well, a VIP 530/4 2006 model and ours hasn't got reversing lights either. We got a similar response from our dealer as well. Must admit, we thought it was strange too as there is a clear lens in the light cluster but it doesn't work.

Mike's suggestion is a possible reason but our car is a 2004 model and you would assume that the wiring was there.

I've just rung Coachman about this and have left a message for someone to call me back. They always do. Had a couple of instances where I have had a query and have always got an excellent response from Coachman Customer Care.

I'll let you know what they say