Comments please!

Aug 25, 2006
Visit site
New car time!

I`ve shortlisted a Passat TDI 140 Sport, Honda Accord 2.2 Diesel sport and a Saab 9-3 150 diesel in some spec or other to replace trusty Passat TDI 130 Sport. Anybody got any of the above?

spj

Apr 5, 2006
Visit site
Hi Angus, I would stay with the VW, I also had a 130tdi sport passat which was an excellent tow car, second choice would be the Honda but the Saab is pretty much a Vectra and so I wouldnt touch one.

spj

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hi Angus, I will put a word in for the Accord having used one for the last eighteen month as a company vehicle. In comparison with the Passat which we also have in the company fleet I think the Honda diesel is far superior, certainly in the refinement stakes. Towed with the Honda before changing our own car and found it to be a great towcar. Cannot comment on the Saab as I have no experience of the car.

Aug 25, 2006
Visit site
As the candidates polled one vote each, I used my casting vote and after much deliberating, have taken delivery of a Passat TDI 140 Sport Estate, but to be honest the result was really a toss-up between the Passat and the Honda.

May 21, 2008
Visit site
Well for me it's Rena------, VW passat actually.

Very well built with a good pedigree and a high residual value (trade in).

SAAB are nice but one of the fastest depreciators according to Auto Express mag.

Honda are good and highly spec'd but I think the Japs tend to stretch out the power from their engines and they then lack long term sustainability.

The Germans are more build it big and stronger to last longer.

Six cylinder truck engines in their cars and all that jazz.

Steve L.

P.S. I'll still drive mine with a string of onions hung from the door mirrors!!??.

Aug 25, 2006
Visit site