Cornering with a twin axle

May 4, 2019
Visit site
Hello,

This may be a silly question, but that won't stop me asking!

I have been towing a single axle for around 4 years and will be selling this very soon in favour of a different layout. The one we are interested in is a meter longer and is a twin axle.

I have read a lot about manoeuvring a twin axle on site with a motor mover turning in a large arc and will of course have to accept this however I can't find any information about entering/exciting junctions with one on the road.

Does a twin axle follow your car just as a single axle does or is it slower to turn for to the two axles or is it just a case of it being longer over the pivot point that I need to take into account?

Regarding the extra length, it would essentially be 8m long, does anyone have any sensible advice for entering/exiting junctions. I.e. Do you find yourself needing to pull into the opposite side of the road to make tight turns to avoid wiping someone out? This is not something I've had to do with my current van.

I just want to be prepared well before I potentially purchase a 'van that could be quite different in the way I need to drive it.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

ReverentJT (not really a reverend at all)

Jun 20, 2005
Visit site
Hi Reverend
Welcome to the forum. There are some very clever people on here to help answer your questions.

I have towed a twin axle for ten years.
I use a Heavy duty Powrtouch mover attached to the front axle. It does not turn on a sixpence but is more than adequate with patience. If I had to move in very tight spaces I would consider a four wheel drive Powrtouch. Remember the weight of the movers eats into your payload allowance.
With experience you will find you can reverse a ta just as easily as a sa. Things just happen a bit slower. So you may only need the mover for the final minor adjustment.