Feb 6, 2024
Visit site
Hi, newbie here, just bought a 2014 Swift Challenger Sport and keeping it on a seasonal pitch all year round.
I have sleep apnea and I'm wondering if any fellow caravaners use their 12v or 240v hook ups for their machine overnight?
Thanks.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
I have only seen a Canadian supplied cPap machine which ran on 12V DC either from a car, or from an in line power brick with a universal 100V to 250Vac mains supply. I'm guessing yours must be similar.

I guess you are only contemplating using sites with mains hook ups, but your unsure of the reliability of the mains supply. Where medical equipment is concerned I think your wise, as there are more opportunities for supply failures than when at home.

I suggest using the mains supply to keep the caravan battery charged, and only connecting your machine to the 12V. That way should the mains fail, you will still have the battery power to see you through the night.

Feb 6, 2024
Visit site
I have only seen a Canadian supplied cPap machine which ran on 12V DC either from a car, or from an in line power brick with a universal 100V to 250Vac mains supply. I'm guessing yours must be similar.

I guess you are only contemplating using sites with mains hook ups, but your unsure of the reliability of the mains supply. Where medical equipment is concerned I think your wise, as there are more opportunities for supply failures than when at home.

I suggest using the mains supply to keep the caravan battery charged, and only connecting your machine to the 12V. That way should the mains fail, you will still have the battery power to see you through the night.
Thanks for the advice.

Jul 18, 2017
Visit site

The OP mentioned that they are keeping in on a seasonal site so there should not be any issue with reliability of the 240v supply?

Nov 16, 2015
Visit site