Discovery 4 - Towcar of the Year 2010

Mar 14, 2008
Visit site
LR Discovery 4 has been voted What Car Towcar of the year 2010, yet another award for this most excellent, if a little large for some, work horse.

I've been driving a D3 for three years now and quite honestly find it hard to see just what they could improve - my D3 has been wholly reliable and a complete joy to own, it has retained over 70% of it's value since new but still I just can't risk it out of warranty so time for a change, probably to D4, if I can get one .........

Nov 6, 2005
Visit site
I always their comments are very biased .Read the section about practicality ref the E class and then they give it a 3???

They should compare model specs ie a S line Q7 = a LR HSE so the comment of pricey is not a fair comaprison.

The Santa fe is the true winner as its haf the price?

I have a copy of Glass's guide in my hand and the best D3 is only 48%,prices slightly dropped with the release of the LR D4

I think you need to quote figures to say you have a residual of 70% of the value of the car,that may be the price on the forecourt thats not what your car is worth trade

Sep 15, 2006
Visit site
What car have always been very biased towards landrovers. I remember following the freelander2 they had on long-term test, and it had a mysterious electrical fault which kept it off the road for several weeks but they still kept giving it high scores.

I'm NOT saying that the landrovers are bad cars - far from it. I've just heard too many bad stories to make me prepared to run one on my own money - especially with a caravanning hobby - I've been stranded once on site and never want to be again!

Sep 15, 2006
Visit site
PS. Gordon's 70% claim may not be so wide of the mark, but its probably to retail price and has been caused by the drop in the pound. The pound has so far dropped about a quarter, so used prices are at a high.