First time Caravan owners and a big help from this Forum

Aug 5, 2023
Visit site
Hi all,

I‘d like to say a massive thank you to everyone that helped a complete novice become a ‘better educated‘ van driver :)

The knowledge and help on here is remarkable, and helped us so much.

Our first night went fantastic, picked up the van and drove (what a new experience) to a local near by site, parked up and managed to settle in for the night.

It was so much better than having to set up a Tent, and so glad we are now caravan owners

Just out of curiosity, I have a few questions below

1. As we just purchased our 2023 brand new caravan, should the dealership not have serviced the caravan regardless of the previous date, I can’t find any paperwork?
2. When you level the caravan, then move the alloy to fit the ALKO wheel lock, doesn't moving the caravan either fwd/back then lose the level?
3. When travelling, when would you know when not to drive when the wind is picking up, is there limits?
4. Is there meant to be a light rocking back and forth now and again when driving, is this normal?
5. Lastly, is there a setting on the Truma digital screen to lower the water temp if we feel it’s too hot?
6. Is it normal for jockey wheels to take a lot of stress. it feels like it will just snap off when moving about with the motor movers
Thanks
Lee

IMG_1690.jpeg

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hi all,

1. As we just purchased our 2023 brand new caravan, should the dealership not have serviced the caravan regardless of the previous date, I can’t find any paperwork?
A brand new caravan should only need the dealer to conduct the Pre delivery Inspection. It should not need a service. The service schedule in the warranty scheme is only applied from the date of purchase, not the date of manufacture.
2. When you level the caravan, then move the alloy to fit the ALKO wheel lock, doesn't moving the caravan either fwd/back then lose the level?