first time to france

Jan 7, 2007
Visit site
hi we are planning our first trip to france this year and have no idea where to go at what time and how different it is to uk caravaning.any help advice or tips will be greatly appreciated and read thanks lee

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
lee, Herself and I took the plunge last year after forty years of caravanning in UK and Ireland. We took our outfit to France for the first time. We had been before by solo car, so were not complete novices at the "wrong side of the road" thing, but nevertheless, we were a little nervous. When we stopped for a coffee break about 70k from the ferry, we wondered what all the fuss had been about! We did a further 3800 miles in six weeks and never had any bother at all. Towing is probably easier there than here, because there is much less traffic and roads are straighter.

As far as sites are concerned, we booked our first night, then took pot luck with the rest. Again, no problems. All sites were at worst, adequate, and at best, wonderful.

We went from mid-August to the end of September, and sailed Norfolk Line Dover-Dunkirk. Clean, comfortable and relatively cheap. The only tip I would give you, is just to go and do it! you'll love it.

Jul 5, 2006
Visit site
Hi,

we took the plunge for the first time last summer. I chose a longer crossing (poole-Cherbourg) to have a shorter drive through France. Shouldn't have bothered driving in France is easier than driving in the UK.

We stayed at a Castell Camping site near Granville booked through the Caravan club. The facilities were excellent and my 8 and 10 year old were in their element. A 16 year old may be harder to please but some of the larger sites may be more accomodating to a 16 year old's needs.

My wife wasn't to keen on the longer crossing so next time it's Dover Calais and a campsite in the Vendee.

Do have a look at the Caravan Club brochure and do book you won't regret it.

Regards

Steve

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site