Fridge 12v - Advice Please

Mar 17, 2020
Visit site
Mobile engineer noted that the fridge isn't working on 12v. He's unscrewed the fuse-board as shown in pics revealing a "burnt" connection.
I have found the fuse-board and intend getting a replacement assuming there will be damage. (https://sargentltd.co.uk/shop/product/c44-fuse-box/250) .

A few questions. I'm NOT an electrical engineer although do own a multi-meter!

My thoughts are:

A fuse blows for a reason. If I renew the fuse-board and re-fit the wires then exactly the same thing could happen so:-

Step one might be to take car to tow bar fitters and have 13 pin electrics checked. (I think I've read that there are testing kits they just plug into the 13 pin on car so can give me a verdict, as it were, instantly. Hopefully this will eliminate car side issues.

So far as caravan side issues I've no idea where to begin. My fear is that a little knowledge can be very dangerous and I'm concerned that I may cause damage.

If anyone can run me through the things I can do and explain clearly (presume I'm an idiot) I would be grateful. Whilst no 12 v fridge when towing might be no big thing in the UK we will be in Spain later in the year where every bit of cooling matters! I am told by the mobile engineer that the fridge will still operate normally on gas and 240 mains.

Please see pics showing damage. I've not done anything so far - not even checked the fuses.

Fridge 12v.jpg

Jan 20, 2023
Visit site
It could well be a poor connection caused over heating and eventual fuse failure, heat degrades an electrical connection very quickly, the degradation leading to a rapid increase in resistance. Part of my job is to conduct failure investigations on electrical joints (albeit at a much larger/higher voltage than 12 volts) but the majority of failures are either due to water ingress or a poor connection.