Fuses

Mar 19, 2024
Visit site
Please can anyone advise me. I'm a novice caravaner. I have an old swift corniche and the previous owner tells me the water pump keeps blowing fuses. The whole fuse box was fitted with 10 amp fuses. Should the different appliances have different size fuses and do they colour match the wires at the fuse box ?
Many thanks if any advice is given

Jun 16, 2020
Visit site
Please can anyone advise me. I'm a novice caravaner. I have an old swift corniche and the previous owner tells me the water pump keeps blowing fuses. The whole fuse box was fitted with 10 amp fuses. Should the different appliances have different size fuses and do they colour match the wires at the fuse box ?
Hi chay

Try a Google search for your models and model year instructions, this should tell you the fuse ratings.

John

Last edited:
Reactions: chay
Jan 19, 2002
Visit site
Swift website offers handbooks back to 2011
or you may find one on
even if not the exact model/year there may be fuse info for you.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
The colours of the wires have no relationship to the colour of the fuses. You need to know what each fuse is for and the rating will have been determind by the caravan manufacturer. So having an owners hand book would be a good start.

However if a water pump repeatedly blows a fuse, it suggests the pump may be faulty. or possibly the wrong size of fuse has been put in the pump circuit most likely by the previous owner.

You don't tell us what type of pump you have, but I'm guessing its a submersible pump you drop into a water barrel. With these type of pumps is very important the pump is not allowed to run dry. Submersible pumps rely on the water passing through the pump to cool it. If there is no flow or worse no water the pump motor can begin to overheat, and that can soften and deform the plastic housing. This can cause the motor's shaft seal to fail and allow water into the motor, and that is usually causes the motor to fail quite quickly.