Oct 30, 2009
Visit site
I am a final year Student and I am trying to find out how many caravanners are affected by the problem of transporting a boat or similar item aswell as a caravan, or if anybody has any solutions they implement.

If anyone can help i would be very grateful, Thankyou.

May 25, 2009
Visit site
Hi Chris,

Absolute coicidence, I had an email from my son this morning. He is in Oz. The following is an extract from that mail ......

......The 'F' series of Fords are common in Oz, mostly older F150's - the only 'car' that will out tow the land/range rovers, useful if your pulling firstly a huge caravan and then a 25' boat behind that!

Hope that helps. ;-)

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com
Although it may be possible to tow two trailers in Australia, it isn't, of course, here. A neighbour who was both an avid sailor and caravanner therefore hit on the idea of putting the dinghy inside the caravan. Unfortunately, the dinghy was a few inches longer than the inside length of the caravan. Being our lab boffin on adhesives, he cut a short section out of the dinghy and stuck it back together again.

May 21, 2008
Visit site
Hi Chris.

I sail a Mirror dighy and tow an Abbey 540 with my Laguna estate. At the moment we have the van on a seasonal pitch, so towing the boat is easy, but in the past I have take both away on holidays to the gower coast.

I simply load the dighy onto the roof rack on the car, then put the dinghy road trailer on top of the dinghy. Hook up the caravan and drive to the site, set the van up, take the boat off the roof of the car. Now I have the boat on it's trailer ready to hook up and go and have fun.

The only down side to this is you get that "jaw dropping double take" from the boys in blue as you cruise the roads. But so long as your loading is legal, don't worry about a thing. Also the aerodynamics of the upturned dinghy might even help fuel economy.

Steve L.

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com