Hi all and advice please

Mar 3, 2017
Visit site
Hi all

I wonder if anyone can help. I'm a complete novice at caravanning and I'm looking to purchase my first. I saw a caravan I liked and I went on a couple of tow match sites and got 2 different answers, 1 saying perfect match and the other saying it's an illegal match. The caravan centre that I saw the caravan for sale at told me the match was fine. So if anyone can help me decipher exactly what weight I can tow I would really appreciate it. I have a Vauxhall Astra 1.7 cdti exclusive ecoflex estate, the vin plate numbers are 2120kg 3370kg 1-1140kg and 2-1020 kg. Does this mean I can tow a fully laden weight of 1250kg? Also forgive me for sounding stupid but as there are only 2 of us plus 2 dogs if I bought a caravan say 4 berth and for example it said fully laden weight of 1400kg as there would only be 2 of us and not the 4 it bases the weight on would that be ok or does it not work like that? Any help would be much appreciated

Wayne

Nov 6, 2006
Visit site
As you have found out third party sites don't always provide accurate information.

Look in the tech section of your cars handbook. It will tell you your cars kerb weight, the maximum braked trailer weight your car can tow, and the gross train weight.

Its important to compare the first two weights, as most calculations refer to kerb weight, but some vehicles have a lower braked trailer weight which would then apply.

As the name implies the gross train weight is the cars maximum laden weight allowed (not the same as kerbweight), plus the caravans maximum weight (MTPLM). This should not be exceeded, and you should check that your licence allows you to tow this. Note that keeping the car and/or the caravan lighter makes no difference - the stated limits always apply

May 7, 2012
Visit site