Ho to clean a sticky awning.

Sam Vimes

Sep 7, 2020
Visit site
We've been park under a tree for a few days and it's left a sticky residue on the van and awning.

Cleaning the van is ok but any advice on how to clean the awning?

Thanks

Jun 16, 2020
Visit site
Not sure. However, sap most likely needs a solvent. This could damage the awnings waterproofing, But you can get spray on re-proofers.

I would be tempted to use hot soapy water at first, perhaps, even a steamer. (try a test area first).

There are products available but I have no experience.

John

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
Several companies produce an awning cleaner spray…..Thetford, Isabella, Fenwicks etc. Otherwise a gentle fabric cleaner such as Autoglym upholstery cleaner, Bissel. Previous awning roofs I’ve had were Tencate which is a polymer fabric so shouldn’t be affected by a gentle cleaning fabrics, but as said above it may need resealing if it shows signs of waterproofing being affected.

Jun 16, 2020
Visit site
Just a thought.

At work, carpentry machines, like bench saws, would regularly clog with sap. We tried many things and found WD 40 was the best.

No idea how that would react on an awning.

John

Jun 20, 2005
Visit site
Sam ,
Not an uncommon problem. Various remedies , commercially are available.
Granny’s remedy is :-

Remove tree pitch from acrylic or natural materials with a mixture of turpentine and liquid dish soap. To remove sap from vinyl, use a grease remover or rubbing alcohol on a soft cloth. Work it gently into the pitch; you want to soften the sap, not spread it around. Wash the area with mild soap and water.

Fabsil do a reproofer for the fabric. The acrylic roof can be washed clean.

Jan 20, 2023
Visit site