In praise of Hyundai

Dec 7, 2006
Visit site
To all of you who argue vigorously whether or not to have the X Trail instead of the CR V or the Sorento I would like to suggest you consider the Hyundai Santa fe which hardly ever gets a mention here. Please feel free to ignore the findings in the What Car test as I have just covered over 2,000 miles (south of France and back)in our new CRDT Santa Fe, pulling a fully laden Abbey Cardinal 495 (MTPL 1460 kgs). The car was superb. Plenty of oomph, 28 mpg and never had a problem lane changing. I am a police trained driver including the blues and twos stuff so have some experience regarding handling, performance etc. However, it's biggest plus for me is that of all the cars I've ever driven it has far and away the most cofortable drivers seat I've had the pleasure to have sat in. For someone who suffers back problems it's positively theraputic.

Try one!

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hi Chris, I too have a very recently purchased Santa Fe Limited (2.2 CRTD+) 5 seat model and it is certainly the most comfortable of cars. However, I have yet to tow with it - next week on 350 mile trip to Cornwall. I hope it tows as well as it travels solo. The Spec is also superb for the price.

One question though is do you tow with ESP engaged or do you de-select it for towing? Your feedback would be gratefully received.

John

Dec 7, 2006
Visit site
Hi Chris, I too have a very recently purchased Santa Fe Limited (2.2 CRTD+) 5 seat model and it is certainly the most comfortable of cars. However, I have yet to tow with it - next week on 350 mile trip to Cornwall. I hope it tows as well as it travels solo. The Spec is also superb for the price.

One question though is do you tow with ESP engaged or do you de-select it for towing? Your feedback would be gratefully received.

John