kerbweights

Jun 12, 2005
Visit site
I currently tow with a Citroen C5 2.0 hdi estate. I only know the unladen weight of my vehicle (1438kgs), which gives me 1222kgs (85%)for my caravan which weighs in at 1220kgs (MAW).I am going to get a new Dethleffs 2 berth which has a max' weight of 1300kgs with a possible chassis increase to 1350kgs. As I am relatively new to caravaning (5 years) I would like someone with a clear understanding of kerbweights to let me know what my vehicle kerbweight is, and their expert opinion on my proposed match.By the way, I have already tried to seek enlightenment from Towsafe and other Websites including Citroen and I am none the wiser. They all quote the unladen weight only. Is there a wise person out there?

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
kerbweight of the estate is 1532 kgs,you propose to tow possible 1350 kgs

the ratio is about 87% nothing wrong with that 1300 even less this is a good match

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com
Although references are still made to 'unladen weight' which used to be the common term used in the British car industry, Directive 96/53/EC which has been in effect since about the mid-90's defines kerbweight or 'mass in running order' and is applicable throughout Europe. The figure that you have for the Citroen C5, being a relatively new car, will therefore actually be the kerbweight.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Dave,

As the other respondents have covered the weight or more correctly the Mass issue, I am sure you will have read other threads about the stability of outfits. A good match is not only dependant on the relative masses, its down to how it is loaded and how it is driven.

I would hope that if you have had 5 years experience you will have already established in your own mind a good loading strategy, and will have found how much the extra bulk of a caravan affects the handling of the car.