Mistake? Help?

Aug 28, 2016
Visit site
Hi,

I'm totally new to caravanning and just purchased a new car to tow a small ish caravan.

However my choice of car was a Skoda Octavia VRS TDI.

This car has a kerb weight of just over 1400kg and it gets worse....

We have also purchased (but not received) an Elddis Xplore 526.

According to the tow car comparison this combination is 86% on the weight comparison chart and only for experienced caravanners.

Any suggestions what I can do to make it easier to tow? i.e. loading etc. New caravan has stabiliser on it as its brand new 2017 model.

I noticed if I load less weight in caravan but more in car (it has MASSIVE boot) it gets easier to tow.
Power is not an issue as its a powerful car.

Hints and tips are hugely appreciated.

Thanks

Mel

Mar 17, 2007
Visit site
Hi. First off the 85% thing is helpful guidance not a rule and at 86% you are as close as makes no difference. Sensible loading of the van with heavy things low down and over the axle and steady driving are just as important as getting the weight ratio right. As long as you don't overload the car axle then heavy things like the awning in the boot will also help.
mel

Nov 16, 2015
Visit site
I totally agree with Mel, 85% is a guide line, get your nose weight (another bad forum) to near the max and your car and van will normally tow well. Just take it steady, and not push it too much. Get used to your outfit and the loading. Its taken me 8 years to sort mine out.
Hutch.

Aug 28, 2016
Visit site
Thanks, glad I haven't made an EXPENSIVE mistake.

I always drive carefully (bus driver YEARS ago).

So that's not an issue, the loading will come with experience and me watching lots of you tube videos.

Thanks

Nov 16, 2015
Visit site
A few silly mistakes and you can possibly join tha Woosies. My latest **** up was trying to move the caravan on the motor mover with the stays still down.
Another years membership maybe.

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site