Mondeo wheels

Jan 23, 2011
Visit site
Hi - in the process of ordering a new Mondeo diesel. One dealer has offered to fit 18" alloys instead of the standard 16" alloys for a reasonable cost. Would appreciate any comments regarding the advantages of 18" over 16", if any, but especially regarding better towing, wear and ride.

Nov 5, 2006
Visit site
Im afraid I cant help regarding the advantages/disadvantages of the wheel size,BUT be sure to let your insurance company know IF you have them fitted.They could be construed as a modification (not standard Fit) & in the case of a claim could allow them a way out of paying out.This also applies to a tow bar if fitted

Feb 18, 2008
Visit site
Zackie
I'm no vehicle expert but surely if you fit wheels of a greater diameter than the vehicle design size it will create some problems. I'm sure someone like Lutz will put me right here but a bigger wheel diameter = greater circumference = greater distance travelled in one wheel revolution. Would not, therefore, the speedometer and mileometer and anything else connected with distance be incorrect as I assume these operate based on an assumed distance travelled, ie wheel circumference? There would also be a bit less space between the tyre and the wheel arch. Traction control, (standard on later Mondeos) may also be thrown into a bit of a tizz and not work correctly. You may also find that, as I believe there will be more stress on the engine, you may not be able to use 6th gear so readily when towing. This would increase fuel consuption a bit.
Fitting larger wheels may also be construed as increasing the performance of the car = higher insurance especially as it would then be 'non-standard'. Longer term, bigger tyres = more money when you need to change them although I suppose they may last a little bit longer as the total number of revolutions per mile will be less.
I have a Mondeo with standard 16" wheels and have to say it tows like a dream and has no ride problems at all.