Jan 12, 2007
Visit site
Hi, been logging into this from time to time Forum for a while so thought I would take the plunge and join!

My wife and I have been caravaning for 5 years - started when we were 31/32 as we got fed up hiring cottages etc only to find the quality did not match the cost.

Started off with a dealer special edition based on the Elddis Avante which gave us the option of using the end dinette as either a fixed bed or secondary seating area.

Tend to use the caravan for weekends and the odd week and have enjoyed both adult only and family sites during the past 5 years and have found this website useful for selecting locations and in providing advice on general and technical issues.

I particularly found the recent debate on 4x4's very interesting and having carefully considered the arguments on both sides traded in my C-Class estate for a Jeep Grand Cherokee.

With the increased towing capacity and the birth of our daughter last January (no more trips to The Ashes near Kendal!!) I have also decided to upgrade the caravan to an Elddis Crusader Superstorm and take delivery in March - just in time for the new season. Which brings me to main reason for taking the plunge and joining the site - i.e. to draw on the experiences of other twin-axel owners for advice on the advantages and disadvantages of owning a twin-axle.

Not so much worried about the towing and reversing but more the levelling. I have seen hydraulic systems advertised on the Towsure website, which are placed under the wheel which is then raised to the desired and level, and whilst it states these can be used on twin-axels I have never seen one being used on any site and would appreciate any feedback.

Similarly if anyone has any comments on the Crusader these would be welcome.

Looking forward to the new season!!!

May 12, 2006
Visit site
Welcome SPG,