Newbee needs help - How High should my towball be off the gro...

May 14, 2008
Visit site
Hi, I am new to caravanning and just wondered what the suitable height for my towball should be when towing? I have had a few trips and noticed that my jockey wheel when raised is still quite close to the ground - is this normal? I have measured the distance between the ground and the middle of the ALKO hitch at roughly 37cms when hitched to the car but this isn't fully laden.

For info I have a Honda CRV sport 03 and towing a bailey pageant vendee.

If it is too low how do i raise it? A friend has mentioned using a drop plate to raise it but I have read that this must never be done - is this right? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Dave

Dec 16, 2003
Visit site
The centre of the ball should be at 38.5cm +/- 3.5cm from the ground - i.e. somewhere between 35cm and 42cm, which yours is. This is when measured with a loaded car and the trailer/caravan hitched up IIRC.

I believe the pre-2005MY CRV II (I had one) has a max noseweight of 60kg - are you at or within that?

Parksy

Nov 12, 2009
Visit site
Apologies if I'm wrong but it's not uncommon for new caravanners to wind up the jockey wheel without checking the position of the wheel in relation to the slots in the outer sleeve so that when it's unclamped and raised the wheel is still close to the ground. I did this myself when I first started.

Dec 16, 2003
Visit site
I would certainly want to have some idea what the noseweight is - regardless of the jockey wheel clearance, too little and you increase the risk of stability problems and too much will potentially overload the towbar or the hitch. I use a

May 14, 2008
Visit site
Hi alan,

My jockey wheel hasn't grounded yet it just looks low - it could be me being paranoid! Thanks for the advice - i will recheck the jockey wheel is in its corredt position and will also check my noseweight so that i am ok on that front.

Thanks

May 14, 2008
Visit site
Hi alan,