Night heating in winter - Fanmaster mk1 or ??

Dec 31, 2020
Visit site
Hello - I'm new to staying in my caravan for the odd winter night. I have spent a few nights where the internal temperature has dropped to about 11 deg C - chilly but just about ok.

Now I want to spend a few nights mid winter when the outside temp will drop to 0 deg C.

I don't have 240v supply near by - but to have a solar panel & 12v battery.

I have a 1995 Fanmaster Mk1 - do folks use this with the control set on Gas Slow Fan - for some winter heat? (will it be too hot / not warm enough etc).

Or do I use the 12v battery with an electric heater and a temperature control?

I will of course experiment (Monday night) - but wondered what advice / tips others night have.

Thanks
Mike

Nov 6, 2005
Visit site
Hello - I'm new to staying in my caravan for the odd winter night. I have spent a few nights where the internal temperature has dropped to about 11 deg C - chilly but just about ok.

Now I want to spend a few nights mid winter when the outside temp will drop to 0 deg C.

I have a 1995 Fanmaster Mk1 - do folks use this with the control set on Gas Slow Fan - for some winter heat? (will it be too hot / not warm enough etc).

I will of course experiment (Monday night) - but wondered what advice / tips others night have.

Thanks
Mike
In your described circumstances, I'd turn the fan off at night and rely on convected heat from the gas heater.

Dec 31, 2020
Visit site
In your described circumstances, I'd turn the fan off at night and rely on convected heat from the gas heater.
Thanks - how do I set it on convected heat with out the fan? The controller I have is Carver Fanmaster with (Off /On Select - with options of Gas Auto Fan // Gas Slow Fan // Fan // Elec Auto Fan // Elec Slow Fan).

Mike

Jun 16, 2020
Visit site
Carver, on covector only. As others have said.

A 12 volt heater, would drain the battery in next to no time with very little heat output.

John

Sep 23, 2023
Visit site

Thanks
Mike