PROXIMITY ALARMS

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
I am not quite sure who the "blighters" are that you seem to want to scare off.

The basic fact about caravans is that if the thieves want it, they WILL have it, regardless of what you have in the way of security.

It is all too easy to get paranoid about what "may" happen and lose the enjoyment of what it is all about.
I have been camping and caravanning for over 50 years and apart from one aquaroll being taken whilst on site, NOTHING has happened to me or my family in any of the sites we have been to.

Sep 7, 2006
Visit site
You have appararently not been to southern Spain and Portugal. The aim is to prevent them damaging the locks rather than pinching the van, thats what insurance is for. The damage and inconvenance is far greater than a complete loss or right off. You have clearly been lucky

May 21, 2008
Visit site
I have one on my works van.
It is too impractical to keep locking and unlocking everytime we want a box of teks. So I had a proximity alarm fitted. Get within 2Mtrs and you get "warning this vehicle is alarmed".
The payback is that we have now got all our tools we had 6 months ago which saved me £300 in hand tools this year. Also you can find out howmany times the farmer is knocking off the odd box of screws and nails etc. The last four jobs caught every farmer with the hand in my til so to speak!!
Now Damian, just imagine the would be burglar wants to use knockout gas before breaking in. A proximity alarm now becomes an excellent piece of kit. This type of burglary is prevelant in europe.

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Quote "
Now Damian, just imagine the would be burglar wants to use knockout gas before breaking in........... This type of burglary is prevelant in europe."

There is no data to suport that statement.
The only "stories" you hear about are those that happened to a friend of a friend of a friend twice removed.