reverse polarity

Apr 20, 2011
Visit site
I seem to be getting mixed comments from fellow caravaners and dealers regarding the above, we are going to France in June and as a precaution i have bought two- two pin conectors ( one with the blue and brown reversed which i done myself) and have made a short cable up with the blue connectors with one end reversed, i also bought a plug in tester which lights up to let you know how the electric is wired, we recently upgraded our van at the back end of last year and have used the van a dozen times since, at the weekend i plugged the van into the supply in my garage to charge the battery i then plugged the tester in and was amazed it was incorrect, thinking it was the wiring in the garage i plugged the tester into the socket and it was fine i then plugged in a spare cable from the socket to the van and it was also ok, so seems i have been using a reversed polarity cable for several months without knowing, when i contacted the previous owner he had know idea either as he hadnt travelled abroad and had never tested the polarity, so my question is does it really make any difference ? and is there no warning visual or audiable in the van to let you know of this ?
thanks in advance for your time

chris.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Chris,
Most mains applainces will work quite happily with the live and nuetral wires crossed and generally you wont be exposed to any danger unless an appliance actually developes a fault, or you start to to tinker with the system.
The danger starts to arise where equipment has a fuse or single pole switched only in the live conductor. This means that if the supply is reveresed if the fuse or the switch is apparently off, internal parts of the applaince will still be live and thus potentially (no pun intended) dangerouse.