Rip off government b+e test

Parksy

Nov 12, 2009
Visit site
I just taken the training for the b+e towing test, as I have the new license. Talk about the government making more money from nothing. I have been towing trailers and small caravans for about 10 years, but now as we want a bigger van we need the bigger car, so I booked myself in for the training and test. What a con. I only spent 30 minutes reversing the rest of it was simply driving on the roads as normal. As far as I'm concerned it hasn't got anything to do with towing, it's simply just a refresher driving test. What makes me laugh is that a normal driving test is 40 minutes. When this test is 1hr 30. I wouldn't mind if it was all about towing but it isn't it's all about driving. Making sure the handbrake is on at junctions checking ur mirrors etc etc. I was always taught the best way to slow a car down with a van on the back is to go through the gears, not now though. Because of save the earth crap u mustn't do that no because apparently you waste 1 mile per gallon in fuel doing it the old way, so they have to teach you this new way. Great so if your brakes happen to fail with 2 tonne on the back, these newly taught drivers won't have a clue on how to stop. Yeah this really is a great course. I've been driving for 15 years now, fair enough I can understand to have say a five year limit before you can tow, to gain experience. Would like to hear anyone else's views on this money making government scheme.

Oct 30, 2009
Visit site
hi sorry you are disgruntled by your experience but I would have only 2 comments to make .
1. you have posted this in the wrong section should have been in towing driving and safety.