Running In & Towing

Aug 17, 2005
Visit site
I wasn't sure where to post this one!

I'm due to pick up my new Hyundai Santa Fe at the begining of June but have a trip to Cornwall booked just a week and a half later.

I've read up on running in a new engine with mixed advice. Does anyone have experience with this and what are the thoughts on towing a 1350kg+ van on a fresh engine which will at best, only have 500-600 miles on it?

Cheers

Dave

Jun 14, 2009
Visit site
I had the same predicament as you with my Santa Fe. The owners handbook say do not tow until after 1000 miles. I had to put off picking up my caravan from the dealer for a month. I'm not sure if it would have any adverse effect on the warranty? My caravan is 1580kg so big difference to yours. I am totally happy with mine, although a little disappointed with the fuel economy, but I was expecting that anyway,

Sep 25, 2009
Visit site
Whilst not being an expert, I was told that you should have at least 1,000 miles on a new vehicle, before towing with it.

Best regards,

George

Mar 21, 2007
sites.google.com
some time back I had the good fortune to be able to collect a new merc from the Stuttgart factory. I enquired there about towing as I had towing trips lined up. The answer was no problem. The only thing the handover person was most keen to impress on me was to keep below 2500 RPM for 1000km.

However in spite of this I would have prefered to get some miles on it first but wasnt able. Up to yet 3 years of big towing trips and it does not seem to be a problem.

Dave

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
For the Kia Sorento it advised keeping to 50mph max for the first 500 miles of towing duty, but never qualified this by stating how this related to the mileage put on when driving solo. So I got the Sorento with 3000 miles solo on the clock and just kept to Kia's advice, but what if it had had 12000 on the clock and never towed before?

Mar 10, 2006
Visit site