Satalite tv

Oct 11, 2006
Visit site
Good evening all, as I am a complete beginner in caravanning into Europe, whats the right equipment to buy ie which tv and dish setup can I buy just a standard tv you would use at home
Many thanks dave

Oct 8, 2006
Visit site
How many full stops in a bottle of ink?
Yes, a standard mains TV will do but somewhere around 18-22" is big enough for most people. You will also be well advised to get one that is full HD (not just HD ready) and that has a Freeview HD tuner - for home future-proofing.
You will need a satellite dish. I use a 60cm ovoid which is good enough for most places where UK satellites are receivable. You will also need a LNB (the bit on the end of the dish arm, a tripod on which to stand the dish, anything up to about 15m of PF100 or WF100 cable and connectors, and it is a good idea to have an optical compass. Inside you will need a satellite receiver, and HDMI cable to connect it to the TV, and a means of getting the external cable inside. If you have an Android smartphone download Satellite Director (free) which will make alignment much easier.
If you are going to France you can get a dish with LNB and 10m of cable from such as BricoMan for about €35, probably rather less than over here. I bought a worklight tripod without the lights for about €12 which will do as a dish mount.