Self service and Insurance

Jul 29, 2018
Visit site
I've recently become disenchanted with the service centre that I use and decided to service the van myself. I'm an engineer so most is straight forward and there is a local travelling service engineer who I can get to do the gas and electrics.
I'm wondering where I stand with regard to insurance ! I'm aware that Red Penant insurance says the van must be serviced in accordance with the manufacturers instructions but it doesn't say who can carry it out !
Any advice would be gratefully accepted.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Spector said:
I've recently become disenchanted with the service centre that I use and decided to service the van myself. I'm an engineer so most is straight forward and there is a local travelling service engineer who I can get to do the gas and electrics.
I'm wondering where I stand with regard to insurance ! I'm aware that Red Penant insurance says the van must be serviced in accordance with the manufacturers instructions but it doesn't say who can carry it out !
Any advice would be gratefully accepted.

My first thought is that if the relevant policy clause is exactly as you have written it, then it might not be sustainable in law, because it effectively means your policy is effectively controlled by the whim of a third party who is not part of your insurance contract.

Is your quote word for word?

Jul 29, 2018
Visit site
This is from their brochure ....
Cars, caravans and motorhomes must
be serviced in accordance with the manufacturer’s speci cation both before, and if necessary, during the tour and must be in a roadworthy condition, not overloaded and mechanically sound.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Spector said:
This is from their brochure ....
Cars, caravans and motorhomes must
be serviced in accordance with the manufacturer’s speci cation both before, and if necessary, during the tour and must be in a roadworthy condition, not overloaded and mechanically sound.