Single Axle Tyre Pressures

Mar 7, 2015
Visit site
Hi all,
Reading some of the other posts on the forum got me thinking about tyre pressures (specifically a comment made on the single axle / twin axle discussion - a forum member stated he had tyre pressures upwards of 60psi on his SA van)

The manual for my SA 1993 Swift Diamond Corvette states the tyre pressures (175R13) should be 3.0 bar (42 psi), although I think that they appear under inflated at this pressure when the van is loaded for travelling.

My query is this - Should tyre pressures be increased if the van is fully laden, or is the tyre pressure stated in the manual the figure to be maintained regardless of load ?

As always, many thanks

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello SA,

By all means follow Damian's link and if you are prepared to weigh the caravan before each trip and make adjustments then there is nothing wrong with that, apart from the impracticality of it all.

I am not a tyre expert, but what is clear from all the information that car and caravan manufacturers provide about tyre pressures is that a recommended pressure is capable of carrying a modest weight range without the need for continual pressure changes.

In the context of a caravan, the difference in weight of a caravan from empty to maximum load is typically about no more than about 15 to 20% of the total weight. As caravans are far more frequently run closer to fully loaded than empty setting the tyre pressures for the MTPLM seems sensible.

It is safer to have a tyre set up for its maximum load and occasionally run it slightly light, rather than have tyre under inflated for the load it's carrying.

So the general practice of following the manufacturers pressure guidelines is usually all that's needed .